Annual Conference Report 5th August 2018

Woman Doctor Association Tamilnadu Annual Conference 2018

5th August 2018  at The Checkers Hotel, Saidapet Chennai

The meeting was attended well and the events were called to order by our committee members Dr Shaanthy Gunasingh and Dr Malathy who were the master of ceremonies

Dr.Mangaiyarkarasi gave a very lucid lecture on the approach   and  management   Special child – special needs

Dr.Amalorpavathan Joseph shared his views and created a deal of awareness on the how to go about the process of organ donation

The enlightening panel discussion on child abuse covering the various facets of the topic and a detailed discussion on the sexual abuse was well appreciated

Moderator:  Dr Nandita Thakkar

Panellists :  Dr Prabha Swaminathan (gynaecologist), Dr Jayanthini (Psychiatrist),  Dr Rema Chandramohan (paediatrician) , Dr Lakshmi Sekar (Forensic Medicine) , and   Ms Sudha Ramalingam ( Advocate)

Lighting of the lamp and the invocation song marked the beginning of the formal inauguration of the conference.

Welcome address by the president Dr M L Shyamla

The  association has 2 endowments which are given to the recipients on this occasion

Ms Malathi  Endowment  :

The recipient of this award  Ms Swapna – for motivation and entrepreneur skills to the establishment of Swapna Fashion Jewellery

Mr Kasirajan Endowment and oration:

The recipient this year was Dr Hephzibah Kirubamani  Her dedication and commitment to the field of OBGYN and the passion to teach were recognized and honoured.  She gave a commendable oration on Women and Environment

At the general body meeting, suggestion were invited from the members for the progress of the association were discussed. Also the urgent need to look for a place for the association was brought out and appealed to other members to help with the identification of the place.

Dr Vijaya – the treasurer presented her report and then stepped down after her tenure for 3 years was completed. Her place was taken up by Dr Maheshwari.

Elections for the vacant posts were conducted and new committee members have joined the present team which will be for one year

The other changes :

Dr Sumitra Shanmugam – Advisory committee

Dr Malathy – Joint secretary, Dr Namita and Dr Dr Neelambigai who are members of the association are elected into the executive committee

Free  Paper presentations and poster presentations added a lot a life to the meeting by active participation of the delegates

Prizes were given to the winners at the end

This entry was posted in Past Events. Bookmark the permalink.